ebay

Owners are encouraged to post here as well as suppliers. If you had either a good or bad experience in purchasing yours let others know. If you are selling WebDT's or selling parts and or accessories please link to your stores and or auctions. WebDT reserves the right to edit or rmove dead links to ended auctions.

ebay

Postby HyperNewb » Wed Apr 01, 2009 1:46 am

I picked my 366 up off ebay a  few weeks ago from a seller named "Naturefury". I believe this seller is associated with "Laptops4me" since that's what was listed as the return on the package. Anywho the unit arrived with a busted power supply and a completely drained battery leaving me with no idea if the unit would work or not. I tried to get in touch with them but never heard back. After a  few days with no reply I began searching my existing electronics for a power supply that would match up; eventually hitting on a  12V .62A brick from my 3com gigabit hub that fit just right:) This was just a temporary solution as it was heating that poor thing up like nobodies business and of course I needed the hub back in action. Now knowing that the unit actually worked I picked up a long term solution; works perfectly I might add:)
(http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... 0321083421)
HyperNewb
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 1:15 am

Re: ebay

Postby angrymeat » Wed Apr 01, 2009 6:15 am

yeah I got my unit from laptops for me as well it didn't include everything it was supposed to also the specs were misrepresented on the listing as well saying the unit had 512 ram . I emailed him several items with no reply I finally left neg. It looks like he has had 6 negs within this last month for the same problem either misrep or bad units.
angrymeat
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2009 10:02 am

Re: ebay

Postby ivanp » Wed Apr 01, 2009 3:50 pm

I also bought my WebDT366 from laptops4me. MY unit had badly damaged screen, so touchscreen is out of the question. I have to use mouse to use the unit.

@Angrymeat: Are You sure You dont have 512MB flash? I thought also i ahd 256MB flash, but after messing with partitions under UBCD (booted it over USB flash disk) i saw some hidden partitions. When i formated them all i had 512MB flash drive.
ivanp
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 3:15 am

Re: ebay

Postby angrymeat » Wed Apr 01, 2009 3:59 pm

RAM not flash :)
angrymeat
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2009 10:02 am

Re: ebay

Postby david_halliday » Wed Apr 01, 2009 5:11 pm

I also just got one from laptops4me, it was missing most of the case screws so seemed very beat up put adding a couple of screws (salvaged from the flash card cover) and giving it a good clean fixed it right up.

The add did indicate 512Meg memory but with some research all GX versions seem to be 256Meg which it was clearly designated as. The seller is however clearly confused over ram v flash
 
Geode GX. 500mb alicadiable memory
(you can alicate what you want for storage and RAM) 
 


I will also give them credit that it shipped out the day I ordered it, super fast.

For only $50 including shipping!  I'm happy and have ordered two more.

Dave.
david_halliday
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 3:13 pm

Re: ebay

Postby quotaholic » Wed Apr 01, 2009 5:28 pm

Upon getting the email advertising a rebuilt computer I put two and two together and picked up the phone. It seems that I am among the people who will not shop laptops for me again. I understand that I was shorted the kickstand and that the memory was misallocated however I didn't appreciate the attempted Jedi Mind trick that he was trying to pass over on me saying "its ok, you dont need the kickstand". "The memory is able to be allocated" "you have what you paid for". I could just picture a hand waving in the air. I like deals but I dont like being lied to.

quotaholic
quotaholic
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 552
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: ebay

Postby KDH » Sat Apr 04, 2009 6:46 am

After reading your experiences with laptops4me I decided to post my experience.  I bought my webdt 366gx about almost two weeks ago from seller (member289348729).  The guy had almost no feedback but I decided to take a chance.  I was pleasantly surprised, the unit I was exactly what was spec'ed, the power adapter and battery worked fine, and the unit was well used but good condition.  He had two or three of these units listed, I'm going to email him and see if he has more, I'll let you all know if he does.  Below is the link to my auction.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... 0393301327
KDH
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 12:58 pm
Location: Idaho

Re: ebay

Postby david_halliday » Mon Apr 06, 2009 10:03 am

That add is exactly the same as the one I got from Laptops4Me even down to the typo's so I would bet they are one and the same.

That said I didnt have any major problems with laptops for me (other than their add being a little off), and have two more units on the way. I will let you all know what they are like later in the week.

Dave.
david_halliday
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 3:13 pm

Re: ebay

Postby keirkei » Sun Feb 28, 2010 5:45 pm

This is just info. (I hope it is okay to post this tidbit.)

I saw a WebDT selling on ebay that has a 10inch screen or so?! Maybe this is a 310? (As far as I understand it, those are rare, right?!) The shipping is high, though....

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=150417335665&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT#ht_500wt_924
Striving for knowledge
keirkei
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 3:28 pm
Location: Six

Re: ebay

Postby rectic » Sun Feb 28, 2010 7:03 pm

keirkei wrote:This is just info. (I hope it is okay to post this tidbit.)

I saw a WebDT selling on ebay that has a 10inch screen or so?! Maybe this is a 310? (As far as I understand it, those are rare, right?!) The shipping is high, though....

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=150417335665&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT#ht_500wt_924


That's not a 310, it's one of the other models - most likely a 366.
rectic
Jr. Member
Jr. Member
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 9:06 am

Re: ebay

Postby keirkei » Mon Mar 01, 2010 7:27 pm

Okay. Thanks rectic for your response & for clearing that up for me.  ;D Thanks!
Striving for knowledge
keirkei
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 3:28 pm
Location: Six


Return to Where did you get yours?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron

x