DT310 XPe corrupted

DT310 XPe corrupted

Postby andy » Wed Jun 01, 2011 11:27 pm

I managed to corrupt the registry of the XPe installation on the 1GB flash drive in my DT310.  Does anyone know where I can get a disk image of the original software?  Failing that, could anyone give me a copy of their windows/system32/config/system file from a stock XPe installation?  The file got corrupted when I tried to copy some files from the flash drive to a 1.8" IDE drive with the master/slave jumper set wrong.  There's a chance that this one file is the only one I really need.

Is there any way to get support for these such as drivers, utilities, or BIOS updates?
andy
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 10:52 pm

Re: DT310 XPe corrupted

Postby Dave7341 » Thu Jun 02, 2011 2:02 am

Do you know the exact file(s) that are corrupt?  I may be able to help you out.  Does it come up in safe mode?  Do you get a message like 'can't find file xxxxxx.xxx' or similar error message?

-Dave
Dave7341
Full Member
Full Member
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 5:51 pm
Location: Florida's Central Gulf Coast

Re: DT310 XPe corrupted

Postby andy » Thu Jun 02, 2011 8:44 am

Thanks for you help Dave.

It's the file "SYSTEM" in the windows/system32/config/ directory. 

When windows starts to boot it complains that this file is missing or corrupt and halts before the XP splash screen.  I checked the directory, and the file is 0 bytes in size.  It can't boot to safe mode.

I tried replacing the file with the one from XP Pro, which almost works, but it gives me an error at the logon screen and reboots.  I'm not surprised it didn't work since this file contains a large chunk of the registry.
andy
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 10:52 pm

Re: DT310 XPe corrupted

Postby Dave7341 » Thu Jun 02, 2011 1:10 pm

I have it from my 310 running XPe SP2.  The file is 6,029,312 bytes - is that what you want?

Send me a PM with your email address and I'll send it to you.  You'll need to boot some other operating system and drop the file in the directory.  I used Puppy Linux to copy it off as the file does not allow you to copy it while Windows is running.

-Dave
Dave7341
Full Member
Full Member
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 5:51 pm
Location: Florida's Central Gulf Coast


Return to This area is for any other model of Atigo or WebDT that does not have its own section

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron

x