BIOS or CMOS Reset?

Have a tip or tweak that worked for you? This is the place to share it. In particular allocatable memory, flash card slot limitations and speeds as well as how to set up a toggle for outdoor viewable video.

BIOS or CMOS Reset?

Postby thom » Thu Aug 12, 2010 4:41 pm

I have somehow hosed the settings for my dt366 and am unable to get it to detect the keyboard (or any use devices for that matter).

Is there a reset or clear procedure to reset the bios to defaults?

I have been trying combinations of the reset button and the power button, but haven't had any success yet.

Thanks.
thom
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 2:59 pm

Re: BIOS or CMOS Reset?

Postby airborne » Thu Nov 11, 2010 2:03 am

If your question is still unanswered:
I managed to reset the BIOS settings by removing the CMOS battery for a while and then putting it again in place. Of course, this involves dismantling the device. To find out which part is the CMOS battery, see viewtopic.php?t=0 :)
airborne
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 6:50 am

Re: BIOS or CMOS Reset?

Postby Dave7341 » Tue Nov 23, 2010 6:05 pm

You don't have to remove the battery for a semi-soft BIOS reset.  Turn off your DT366, press and HOLD the power button.  Keep holding for about 3 seconds and you will see the center LED come on.  Keep holding it in maybe 5-6 seconds total and the left most LED will flick an the power will go off.  Then you can let go of the power button, push again for a normal power up.  This trick will load the default BIOS settings but leave the time and date untouched.

I have a few tricks I have found with this thing.  This is a good one for the fool that wonders if you can gain system RAM by changing the video memory from 16mb to 8mb then it would be cool to get more memory by setting the video memory to zero.  Or maybe the bonehead that wonders what that "X2" is in the display type - I can use it twice the size..... 

These other numb-skull moves can be easily corrected with this semi-soft BIOS reset.

Of course, not me......  -Dave
Dave7341
Full Member
Full Member
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 5:51 pm
Location: Florida's Central Gulf Coast

Re: BIOS or CMOS Reset?

Postby turionaltec » Tue Dec 14, 2010 8:30 pm

Thankyou Dave!

I nearly had a heart attack after fiddling with the RAM settings

(256 & 16? DIMMS? Howabout I set to Auto!)

Hold down the power button and all is well!
turionaltec
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 1:18 pm

Re: BIOS or CMOS Reset?

Postby Dave7341 » Wed Dec 15, 2010 3:57 am

Easy fix when you mess with the CPU for overclocking but go too far.  Or when you just make a stupid move....not me, of course.  ;-)

-Dave
Dave7341
Full Member
Full Member
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 5:51 pm
Location: Florida's Central Gulf Coast

Re: BIOS or CMOS Reset?

Postby MarkeBoye » Mon Dec 24, 2012 2:45 am

These other numb-skull moves can be easily corrected with this semi-soft BIOS reset.
The conflicts of interest between Jax and Clay wraps up Sons Of Anarchy Seasons 1-5 DVD!
MarkeBoye
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 11:59 pm


Return to Bios Settings

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron

x