DT360 better than DT366??

Topics on hardware and modifications. Please post your "how to" steps that involve tools here.
plane_crazy

DT360 better than DT366??

Post by plane_crazy »

Hello all,

Just joined your forum. I have been lurking for a few days now and decided to join. I am looking at purchasing one of Sunnyvoip's units from ebay. I just want it to play with (try to install Linux etc) while at the same time getting my daily dose of internet. Maybe SunnyVoip could give us all a smokin' deal on some of those units he's got  ;D

I am not a guru of any sort. Could probably be categorized as an advanced user. Played with Linux a little bit on PC's in the past.

Question is - he is offering the DT360 for ~150.00 more than the DT366. Is the increase in price worth it?
You do get a docking stand. The increase in processor speed is not in my mind significant (400 to 500 MHz). Maybe it is, I am no hardware expert. I'm also not sure of the gain going from USB 1.0 to 2.0. Other than that, the limitations I am reading about that you are having with the DT366 are all still there with the DT360, small storage ( both flash and RAM).

Is it possible to just use an external USB hard drive and tuck it into the battery spot in the back (perhaps the USB 2.0 speed would come into play here?)? This could be hard wired in like another poster did with a memory stick so the wires don't exit the case.

Will the unit run on the second battery with the primary battery removed?

I see on the DT website that there are different size storage options (up to 8GB Flash and 1GB memory) available for the DT360. Does that mean it is more easily upgradeable than the DT366 or is this done during manufacture?

Lots of questions, not enough answers  ???

Bruce Bennett
plane_crazy
plane_crazy

Re: DT360 better than DT366??

Post by plane_crazy »

Thanks for the reply darkcirca.

Any response to the other questions?
1) Is the ~150.00 increase in price worth it?